To meet the Monsanto Tribunal Ambassadors click here!

The members of the steering committee:

Vandana Shiva
founded Navdanya, a national movement to protect the diversity and integrity of living resources - especially native seed, the promotion of organic farming and fair trade - in 1999. She has initiated an international movement of women working on food, agriculture, patents and biotechnology called “Diverse Women for Diversity.” Time Magazine identified Dr. Shiva as an environmental “hero” in 2003, and Asia Week has called her one of the five most powerful communicators of Asia. Forbes magazine in November 2010 identified Dr. Vandana Shiva as one of the top Seven most Powerful Women on the Globe.

Corinne Lepage is a lawyer since 1975, specializing in environmental issues. Former environment minister, she was MEP (Member of tne European Parliament)  from 2009 to 2014. She is Honorary President of the Independent Committee for Research and Information on Genetic Engineering  ( CRIIGEN ) after having been founding president of the association to study the effects of genetic technologies for life.

Marie-Monique Robin is an award-winning journalist and author. She has directed numerous documentaries across Latin America, Africa, Europe and Asia, receiving thirty awards. She wrote the best-selling documentary (and book by the same name), “The World According to Monsanto,” which has been broadcast on fifty international television stations, and translated into 22 languages. She is the patron of the Monsanto Tribunal.

Olivier De Schutter, Co-Chair of the International Panel of Experts on Sustainable Food Systems (IPES-Food), is a Professor at the Louvain University (Belgium) and former UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Food (2008-2014). He is currently a member of the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights.

Gilles-Éric Séralini, professor of molecular biology since 1991, researcher at the Fundamental and Applied Biology Institute (IBFA) of the University of Caen and co-director of the pole Quality Risk and Sustainable Environment of the House of the Human Sciences Research (pole associated with the CNRS). He became particularly known to the public for his studies on GMOs and pesticides and, in particular, a toxicological study published in September 2012, driven by CRIIGEN, questioning the safety of GM maize NK 603 and Roundup health of rats.

Hans Rudolf Herren is President and CEO of the Millenium Institute and President and Founder of Biovision. He was coordinator of the Agriculture chapter of the UNEP Green Economy Report, 2011, and of the UNEP Report on the Ecological Bases of Food Security, 2012. He has been selected as a High Level participant for the UN’s High Level Consultation on Hunger, Food Security and Nutrition in the Post-2015 Development Agenda.

Arnaud Apoteker has participated in numerous Greenpeace campaigns on pesticides, protection of the Mediterranean Sea, ocean ecology, fisheries, nuclear waste and nuclear testing. In 1996, he developed a GMO campaign in France, which became one of the priority campaigns of Greenpeace France. From 2011 to 2015, he was in charge of the GMO campaign for the Greens/EFA group at the European Parliament. He wrote the book “Du poisson dans les fraises, Notre alimentation manipulée,” (Fish in the Strawberries: Our Manipulated Food).

Emilie Gaillard teaches private law and is the author of a thesis titled "Future generations and private law. Towards a law of future generations", 2008 (awarded by the Moral and Political Sciences Academy in 2010). She teaches international environmental and human rights law at Sciences Po Rennes (France). She brings her expertise to the citizens' movement  End Ecocide on Earth in the fields of law of the future, of future generations and of precautionary principle.

Valerie Cabanes is a lawyer in international law with expertise in international humanitarian law and human rights law. She's a consultant and a trainer in the people ´s security sector and in the health and social sectors. She is the spokesperson for the world citizen movement – End Ecocide on Earth - which aims to add ecocide to the list of most serious international crimes.

Ronnie Cummins is currently the International Director of the two-million member Organic Consumers Association (USA) and its Mexico affiliate, Via Organica. Cummins also serves on the steering committee of Regeneration International, a transnational NGO dedicated to reversing global warming and rural poverty. Cummins is currently serving as global coordinator for the Millions Against Monsanto Campaign. He is co-author of the book, “Genetically Engineered Food: A Self-Defense Guide for Consumers.”

Andre Leu is author of the award winning book, “The Myths of Safe Pesticides,” and the President of IFOAM Organics International, the world umbrella body for the organic sector. IFOAM Organics International has around 800 member organisations in 125 countries. He is a founding member of Regeneration International. He speaks at numerous conferences, seminars, and workshops, as well as United Nations events on every continent. He meets with governments, industry, farmers, consumers and NGOs on the multi-functional benefits of regenerative organic agriculture. Andre has written and published extensively in multiple media.

Remaining members of the organizing committee (in alphabetical order):

  • Françoise Boulègue, Film editor for M2R Films.
  • Tjerk Dalhuisen, Secretary of Action for Solidarity Environment Equality and Diversity.
  • Luigi D’Andrea, Executive Secretary of Alliance Suisse pour une agriculture sans genie génétique.
  • Emilie Gaillard, Professor and researcher in law, Université de Caen.
  • Esther Gerber, Biologist and member of the Forum Civique Européen.
  • Benny Haerlin, Former member of the European Parliament, campaign coordinator of “Save Our Seeds” campaign.
  • Hannes Lammler, Agronomist, member of the Forum Civique Européen and campaigner for Falea21-Mali.
  • René Lehnherr, IT Specialist, member of the Forum Civique Européen.
  • Gilles Lemaire, Member of the commission on ecology and society of Attac France.
  • Michel Pimbert, Executive Director of the Centre for Agroecology, Water and Resilience at Coventry University.
  • Bessie Schadee, President of Network Vital Agriculture and Nutrition and member of Gezonde Gronden (Netherlands).
  • Mindi Schneider, Sociologist, Agronomist, and Assistant Professor at the International Institute of Social Studies (ISS) of Erasmus University Rotterdam in The Hague, Netherlands.
  • Doro Schreier, Founder of Netzfrauen.
  • Ruchi Shroff, Coordinator of Navdanya.
  • François Veillerette, Spokesperson for Générations Futures, President of the Pesticide Action Network Europe.


Some members of the steering committee of the Tribunal:

Vandana Shiva, Corinne Lepage, Marie-Monique Robin, Olivier de Schutter, Gilles-Eric Séralini, Hans Herren